Skip Navigation

Multicultural Commission



The character of Utah has been shaped by people of diverse ethnic cultural backgrounds, who have settled within the State, and this diversity is the very fiber that has allowed us to grow, prosper and succeed as a State. 


The Multicultural Commission will work to accomplish the following:

    • Gather and discuss information about the issues and concerns of the ethnic constituents of Utah, which are influenced by the State.
    • Provide a forum for constituents to inform the Multicultural Commission about the State's influence on issues.
    • Develop recommendations as to how the State can respond to issues impacting the ethnic constituents of Utah.
    • Review State agency responses to recommendations provided by the Multicultural Commission.
    • Make recommendations to the Governor about State policy, programs, and projects and their impact on ethnic constituents.
    • Provide recommendations of ethnic constituents who can serve on advisory boards, commissions, and other positions in State Government.
    • Collaborate with the Multicultural Affairs Office to develop and implement a strategic plan for the Multicultural Affairs Office and Commission.
    • Report to the Governor as needed to provide information on the needs of the community, report on accomplishments, and receive feedback from the Governor. 

Commission Members

The Multicultural Commission is chaired by the Lt. Governor and is composed of members appointed by the Governor.  Members represent State agencies and leadership within the ethnic community.  Each member of the Multicultural Commission serves on a subcommittee focusing on the following:


Bev Uipi

Dr. Roderic Land 

Palmer DePaulis 

Nathan Hanamaikai

Thomas Patterson 



Sophia DiCaro 

James Whitaker 

Maria Recto 

Jeff Herring 

Nathan Hanamaikai

James Jackson 

Steven Ha

Benjamin Au 



Bev Uipi   

Dr. Roderic Land

Maria Recto  

Nathan Hanamaikai

Dr. Jose Enriquez



Dr. Robert Rolfs  

Mani Grewal   

Aden Batar     

Avery Bocage     

Rep. Rebecca Chavez-Houck      



Pamela Atkinson  

Rep. Rebecca Chavez-Houck  

Byron Russell  

Julie Fisher   

Meeting Schedule

The Commission meets every third Tuesday every other month.  For more information contact Samantha Eldridge at 801-245-7210. 

Executive Order

Governor's Executive Order:  Creating the Utah Multicultural Affairs and Utah Multicultural Commission.