Skip Navigation

Multicultural Commission

MulticulturalCommission

History

The character of Utah has been shaped by people of diverse ethnic cultural backgrounds, who have settled within the State, and this diversity is the very fiber that has allowed us to grow, prosper and succeed as a State. 

Goals

The Multicultural Commission will work to accomplish the following:

    • Gather and discuss information about the issues and concerns of the ethnic constituents of Utah, which are influenced by the State.
    • Provide a forum for constituents to inform the Multicultural Commission about the State's influence on issues.
    • Develop recommendations as to how the State can respond to issues impacting the ethnic constituents of Utah.
    • Review State agency responses to recommendations provided by the Multicultural Commission.
    • Make recommendations to the Governor about State policy, programs, and projects and their impact on ethnic constituents.
    • Provide recommendations of ethnic constituents who can serve on advisory boards, commissions, and other positions in State Government.
    • Collaborate with the Multicultural Affairs Office to develop and implement a strategic plan for the Multicultural Affairs Office and Commission.
    • Report to the Governor as needed to provide information on the needs of the community, report on accomplishments, and receive feedback from the Governor. 

Commission Members

The Multicultural Commission is chaired by the Lt. Governor and is composed of members appointed by the Governor.  Members represent State agencies and leadership within the ethnic community.  Each member of the Multicultural Commission serves on a subcommittee focusing on the following:

CORRECTIONS

Bev Uipi

BUipi@slco.org

Dr. Roderic Land

roderic.land@utah.edu 

Palmer DePaulis 

palmer@utah.gov 

Nathan Hanamaikai 

Nathan.hanamaikai@gmail.com

Thomas Patterson

tompatterson@utah.gov 

 

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Sophia DiCaro

sdicaro@utah.gov 

James Whitaker 

jameswhitaker@utah.gov 

Maria Recto 

maria.recto@zionsbank.com 

Jeff Herring

jherring@utah.gov 

Nathan Hanamaikai 

Nathan.hanamaikai@gmail.com

James Jackson 

james.jackson.iii@accelut.org 

Steven Ha

steven.ha@zionsbank.com

Benjamin Au

Benjamin.au@comcast.net 

 

EDUCATION

Bev Uipi  

BUipi@slco.org   

Dr. Roderic Land

roderic.land@utah.edu

Maria Recto

maria.recto@zionsbank.com  

Nathan Hanamaikai

Nathan.hanamaikai@gmail.com

Dr. Jose Enriquez

enriquez.j6@gmail.com

 

HEALTH

Dr. Robert Rolfs 

rrolfs@utah.gov  

Mani Grewal  

grewalmani@gmail.com   

Aden Batar  

abatar@ccsutah.org     

Avery Bocage 

avery.bocage@ang.af.mil     

Rep. Rebecca Chavez-Houck

rchouck@utah.gov      

 

CREATIVE PARTNERSHIPS

Pamela Atkinson

patkinson@utah.gov  

Rep. Rebecca Chavez-Houck

rchouck@utah.gov  

Byron Russell  

byron@byron-russell.com  

Julie Fisher 

jfisher@utah.gov   

Meeting Schedule

The Commission meets every third Tuesday every other month.  For more information contact Samantha Eldridge at 801-245-7210. 

Executive Order

Governor's Executive Order:  Creating the Utah Multicultural Affairs and Utah Multicultural Commission.